Author Topic: Which Samurai Champloo series should I buy?  (Read 1523 times)

Offline nerdtastic

• Sailor Scout
Which Samurai Champloo series should I buy?
« on: September 23, 2009, 01:23:46 am »
I don't know if this is the right forum, but here goes.

I rented the first four episodes of Samurai Champloo to see if I'd like it, since I'm trying to see if I'd like some anime shows (I'm just getting started). It was great stuff, so I'm interested in buying the series now.

However, there are a few different box sets out there.

One is newer looking and looks like this...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?VISuperSize&item=220481837371

It's also a tad more expensive.

Then there's this one, which is much much cheaper, and makes me wonder.

http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Samurai-Champloo-Complete-tv-series-anime-DVD-eng_W0QQitemZ110437530285QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item19b696faad&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

Finally there is this one...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ANIME-Samurai-Champloo-DVD-TV-Series-NEW-ENG-ANIME_W0QQitemZ260480701272QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item3ca5dc1358&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

It's also relatively cheap.

So, any suggestions? The characters spoke English in the version I rented, and that works for me.

Thanks!

Offline fhqwhgads41185

• Cabbit
    • Myspace
Re: Which Samurai Champloo series should I buy?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2009, 01:40:53 am »
I would buy the second one you mentioned. I'd recommend the third one but I am a bit concerned with it saying "NEW ENGLISH." Does it mean its in English and the box set is new? Or does it mean it was dubbed by different voice actors? I felt the original English voice actors did very well in that series. I didn't read too much on those ebay sites. Another thing to look for is whether or not they are import. I myself buy import because they're cheaper, but you're also more likely to get a disk that doesn't work sometimes that way.