Author Topic: Sewing a cosplay -- suggestions/tips?  (Read 1359 times)

Offline lit by twilight

• Cabbit
    • LiveJournal
Sewing a cosplay -- suggestions/tips?
« on: May 18, 2009, 12:49:44 pm »
So, I've never tried to sew my own cosplay before, and I'm wondering if anyone has any tips/suggestions that could help me out. I'm planning on trying to pull off Wallace/Mikuri of Pokémon:

http://i39.tinypic.com/2jcf3o3.jpg
http://i40.tinypic.com/ly1qr.jpg
http://i44.tinypic.com/2jfnek1.png

It looks like the collar is actually attached to the shirt and that it sticks out of the top of the cape instead of being attached to the cape.

Anyone have any ideas/help for me? I know I could find someone to commission for it, but I'm not sure if I can afford that; also I think putting it together myself might be fun. If anyone has any ideas about how I could do different aspects of the outfit, I will be incredibly thankful.

Thank you!~

Offline ~boogiepop~

• Bunnygirl
    • Glorious Me
Re: Sewing a cosplay -- suggestions/tips?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2009, 02:11:15 pm »
Hey there, glad to see more people cosplaying from Pokemon!

First thing I have to tell you if this is your first time sewing, the best thing to do is to work from a pattern. Trying to go off with out one usually doesn't end well. Try to find someone that has sewn before to help you alter the patterns you pick out too, because trailing off of the directions can be confusing too.

For the cape you'll have to get a heavier fabric (I think I usually get broadcloth when I make capes) so it falls the way you want. Trying to use a lighter fabric like cotton will just flop everywhere and look bad, not to mention wrinkle like a bitch. And remember to get some lining for your cape to get that inside color as well. Capes may seem like they're big and confusing, but they're actually really easy, so don't get discouraged.