Author Topic: Shep Cosplay~Interstella 5555  (Read 4696 times)

Offline Daxe

• Chibi
    • my myspace
Shep Cosplay~Interstella 5555
« on: February 12, 2008, 08:17:31 pm »
Im going to be doing a Shep cosplay this year. If you dont know the name, he is the hero character from Interstella 5555.
Im still really new to this so Im going to post my ideas and you guys let me know what you think.
Here are some pictures:
http://www.animegalleries.net/img/208311
http://www.animegalleries.net/img/208171
http://www.animegalleries.net/img/208184

So far Ive been thinking about using a purple spandex body suit and sewing the red parts on from a red spandex body suit. But what would you guys think about using a sweater material instead?

My chief areas of concern are the zippers which appear to go from just above the belly button all the way up the neck, and from the groin up the right side to the arm pit. seen here:
http://www.animegalleries.net/img/208062
I think I should do a lapped zipper to maintain the color all the way up, but Im not familiar with working with zippers. Are they easy to use with spandex or sweater material?

Next up are the boots. Examples are seen here:
http://www.animegalleries.net/img/208258
http://www.animegalleries.net/img/208062
I was thinking the best way to do these would be to either to put boots inside of the full body suit and add color appropriately or find a pair of boots that look similar and glue the fabric/design to them. I was thinking rain boots. Ideas?

And Lastly I foresee a problem making the collar as its rather large and needs to be able to hold itself up.
http://www.animegalleries.net/img/208117
http://www.animegalleries.net/img/208184
I was thinking making it a separate item, sewing two sides together and stuffing it with some sort of cotton or cardboard kind of thing. And then sewing the separate item into the rest of the costume. Any other Ideas for this are greatly appreciated.